Resource Guide Contents

Guide home

A Walk Through Erie County Historical Sites

Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society

Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site

Forest Lawn Heritage Cemetery

Buffalo City Hall

McKinley Monument

McKinley Marker

Erie County Hall

Buffalo Transportation Pierce Arrow Museum

Grover Cleveland House

Frances Cleveland Birth Home

Karpeles Museum

Buffalo Central Terminal

Albright Knox Art Gallery

Shea’s Performing Arts Center

Kleinhan’s Music Hall

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Martin House Complex

Broadway Market

St. Stanislaus Bishop & Martyr R.C. Church

Erie Canal Harbor at Canal Side

Lt. Col. Matt Urban Memorial

Buffalo and Erie County Naval and Military Park

Buffalo Fire Department’s Historic Fireboat

Michigan Street Baptist Church

Cofeld Judaic Museum of Temple Beth Zion

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Graycliff Estate

River Lea

Roycroft Campus

Aurora Historical Museum

Millard Fillmore House

Elbert Hubbard Roycroft Museum

Amherst Museum

Old Fort Erie

Clarence Historical Museum

Western New York Railway Historical Society

Steel Plant Museum of Western New York

Hull House

Benjamin Long Homestead

Pop Warner Museum

Cheektowaga Historical Museum

Rich-Twinn Octagon House

Discovering Niagara County Historical Sites

Old Fort Niagara

Niagara County Historical Society

Kenan Center

Historic Palace Theater

Belva Lockwood Homestead

Herschell Carrousel Museum

Riviera Theater

Railroad Museum of the Niagara Frontier

Thirty Mile Point Lighthouse

Olcott Beach Carousel Park

Sanborn Area Farm Museum

Sanborn Area Schoolhouse Museum

Murphy Orchards

Daus Haus German Heritage Museum

Niagara Falls Wax Museum of History

Daredevil Museum of Niagara Falls

Sites in the Southern Tier

The Robert H. Jackson Center

A Tour of Genesee County Historical Sites

Genesee Country Village and Museum

Holland Land Office Museum

Jell-O Gallery

Historic Leroy House

Western New York Gas and Steam Engine Association

Stafford Museum of History

Discovering Orleans County Historical Sites

Cobblestone Museum

Courthouse Square Historic District

Frances Cleveland House

Medina Railroad Museum

Bent's Opera House

Niagara County Historical Society

The Niagara County Historical Society operates a series of museums designed to showcase local history. The museums are housed in the seven historical sites listed below:

Outwater Home

Outwater HomePhoto Courtesy of the Niagara County Historical Society

A red-brick Italianate-style home, the Outwater home was built in 1863. It has been restored as a museum and the first floor contains a furnished late Victorian Parlor (circa 1870s) and a kitchen with implements common in the late 19th and early 20th century. On the second floor is a collection of Civil War artifacts, which contains an exhibit on Ely Parker, a Western New Yorker who gained fame as General Grant’s military secretary. The second floor also contains an exhibit of 19th century and early 20th century toys. The house also features changing exhibits.

 The Outwater home is located on 215 Niagara Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

Kandt House

Kandt HousePhoto Courtesy of the Niagara County Historical Society

The Kandt house features artifacts from the commercial and manufacturing history of Niagara County. It is located at 299 Niagara Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

The Barn

The Barn houses the Lockport Fire Department Exhibit, which contains equipment used in the mid to late 19th century. The Barn also contains artifacts from mid- to late 19th century trades in Niagara County, including artifacts from the blacksmith, the cooper, the carpenter, and the cobbler. There are also exhibits dedicated to agriculture.

           

The Barn is located behind 215 Niagara Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

Pioneer and Transportation Building

The Pioneer Building contains two exhibit areas. Visitors begin with an area dedicated to Iroquois American history, which includes a diorama of an Iroquois village. Visitors can then proceed to the second floor, where a recreated Pioneer Cabin illustrates pioneer life in Niagara County.
At the rear of the Pioneer Building is the Transportation Building, where visitors can tour a scale model of the “Flight of Five” Locks from the Erie Canal, which gave Lockport its name. Visitors can also tour other Erie Canal artifacts and two locally made automobiles.

           

The building is located behind 215 Niagara Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

Washington Hunt Law Office

Washington Hunt came to Lockport in 1828 and opened his law office—originally on Market Street—in 1835. He went on to be the first judge of Niagara County, a three-term congressman, and was elected to one term as Governor of New York in 1850. His office has been restored and now serves as a museum. It is furnished as a typical law office of the mid-19th century and also has an exhibit of surveying equipment used by Jesse Haines, an early surveyor of Lockport.

The office is located next to 215 Niagara Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

Colonel William Bond House

Colonel William Bond HousePhoto Courtesy of the Niagara County Historical Society

This National Register Home, built in 1824 by Colonel William Bond, was the first brick home in Lockport. The house is furnished in the 1820’s Empire period and tours can be arranged.      

The house is located on 143 Ontario Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

The Erie Canal Discovery Center

Visitors are welcomed to experience the early days of the Erie Canal by touring this new and interactive museum. Hands-on exhibits, with themes like geology, engineering, and “canawlers” (people who lived and worked in the canal), as well as various other displays help guests experience early canal history and learn the canal’s impact on local history.

The museum is located at the Hamilaton House, 24 Church Street in Lockport, NY 14094. Visit the website at www.niagarahistory.org.

Lockport Cave and Underground Boat Tours

The Lockport Cave and Underground Boat Tour welcomes visitors to experience the history of the Erie Canal. Guests will tour historic Erie Canal locks from 1838, walk through a water tunnel blasted out of stone in the 1850s, view stunning geological formations, and see artifacts left behind from those who built the tunnel. It is an incredible experience.

To arrange a tour, visit the website at www.lockportcave.com